Self Does The Double In Daytona

Michael Self won the inaugural ARCA Menards Series race on the Daytona Road Course Friday evening. (ARCA Photo)
Michael Self won the inaugural ARCA Menards Series race on the Daytona Road Course Friday evening. (ARCA Photo)

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Michael Self has already proven he could conquer the superspeedway at Daytona Int’l Speedway, having won on the 2.5-mile oval twice already during his career.

Friday night, he added an historic first to his racing resume.

Self completed a unique season sweep in the General Tire 100 at the Daytona Road Course, conquering the 14-turn, 3.61-mile configuration in the ARCA Menards Series’ inaugural foray. He also won the season-opener this year on the oval in February.

It marked the ninth series win for the 29-year-old from Park City, Utah, who extended his championship lead in the process. He also took over the Sioux Chief Showdown championship lead.

A faulty plug wire kept Self from taking a lap during the abbreviated practice session, which was cut short by weather. Lightning near the track also pushed the start of the race three hours, meaning in addition to wet conditions and a first-time event, the General Tire 100 would be run under the lights.

None of which slowed the race-long battle between Self and Ty Gibbs.

Self started second by virtue of the starting field being set by owners points in the Sioux Chief Showdown standings. Gibbs used a slick move in the backstretch chicane to take the lead on lap one and held it until Self overtook him right before the halfway break. Gibbs would wrestle in back with 10 to go in the 28-lap event, but Self would not relent. He retook the point in the infield turns with six to go and pulled away for the win.

Self finished 6.993 seconds ahead of runner-up Gibbs.

Colin Braun, the former Rolex 24 winner and NASCAR Gander RV and Outdoors Truck Series driver, crossed the line third as a substitute driver for Sam Mayer. Mayer, who suffered a hand injury in a Trans-Am Series crash last week at Road America, started the race and was relieved by Braun at the halfway break.

Taylor Gray finished fourth and Will Rodgers was fifth.

The finish:

Michael Self, Ty Gibbs, Sam Mayer, Taylor Gray, Will Rodgers, Hailie Deegan, Max McLaughlin, Bret Holmes, Chandler Smith, Parker Chase, Thad Moffitt, Drew Dollar, Will Kimmel, Nick Igdalsky, Mike Basham, Russ Lane, Ayrton Ori, Con Nicolopoulos, Brad Smith.