Mitchell Delivers Toledo ARCA Pole


TOLEDO, Ohio – Mason Mitchell not only had the fastest lap in both practice sessions Saturday at Toledo Speedway, he also set a track record in ARCA Racing Series Menards Pole Qualifying presented by Ansell.

Mitchell turned his qualifying lap in 15.682 seconds. He will start first in Sunday’s Menards 200 presented by Federated Car Care.  Ford’s occupy both spots on the front row.

Grant Enfinger, who has three wins and a pole this season, will start alongside Mitchell in the No. 90 Motor Honey/Casite Ford. Mitchell is in the No. 98 Thermal Technologies Services Ford.

“We won both practice sessions so to speak, so I knew the car was fast,” Mitchell said. “The car was really good. We kept working on it and making it better and we’re on the pole.”

It was Mitchell’s third career pole and, ironically, all three have been track records. He won back-to-back poles Berlin and Springfield last season.

“That’s pretty unique,” Mitchell said.

The record nearly wasn’t a record. With only three cars remaining in Menards Pole Qualifying, a brief shower passed the speedway, causing a 45-minute delay. After the track was dried by the ARCA Safety Initiative, qualifying picked up again.

“That was the most nerve-racking qualifying I’ve ever been in,” Mitchell said. “I had to wait a while there to find out if we were going to be on the pole or not.”

Justin Boston will start third in the ZLOOP Toyota, Tom Hessert fourth and Matt Tifft fifth.

Last year’s pole-winner, Kyle Benjamin, will start sixth, while last year’s winner, Ken Schrader will roll off seventh in the Menards 200. Josh Williams, Cody Coughlin and Justin Allison round out the top 10.

Frank Kimmel, 10-time series champion, will start 16th. He is looking for his 10th all-time win at Toledo Speedway.

Previous articleBlaney Speeds To Iowa NNS Pole
Next articleDeJoria, Enders-Stevens Chase 100th Win is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.