Johnny Sauter Dominates Oktoberfest 200

Johnny Sauter celebrates after a dominant victory in the Oktoberfest 200 Sunday at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway.

WEST SALEM, Ind. – Johnny Sauter dominated and won the ARCA Midwest Tour presented by SCAG Power Equipment Oktoberfest 200 on Sunday afternoon at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway.

Sauter, who also won the fast qualifier award, started ninth and took over the lead on lap 34 and led the final 166 laps to easily take the victory over defending winner and four-time ARCA Midwest Tour champion Ty Majeski.

“Yeah, we got one, this is cool,” a smiling Sauter said in victory lane. “It’s a lot of work with a lot of great people helping me do this stuff. This is fun, and it’s rewarding when you can win, especially with the trouble I have had with this car. We were leading a race and the motor shut off. We worked our butts off and this is gratifying.”

Dan Fredrickson and Jason Weinkauf swapped the lead back in forth throughout the first 30 laps of the race, while Johnny Sauter and Ty Majeski worked their way to the front.

Sauter’s march to the front ended on lap 34 when he took over the top spot from Weinkauf. Majeski followed him to the second spot. Weinkauf fell back to third.

Sauter continued lead as many stayed out during the first competition yellow on lap 50. After the caution, Sauter led with Majeski not far behind him.

The caution flew on lap 70 when Michael Ostdiek and John DeAngelis tangled in turn two. Both were able to restart at the back of the field.

The competition yellow flag waved on lap 114 and the entire field came down pit road during the competition, thus allowing the entire field to come back out in the same order as they were when they came in for their stop.

After the restart, Sauter and Majeski both continued to pace the field with direct competition.

The final competition caution came with 21 laps to go in the event. Both Sauter and Majeski chose the inside line, allowing third place runner Fredrickson to take the outside and restart alongside with Sauter.

The final yellow flew with nine to go when Dillon Hammond spun in turn one collecting Austin Nason and Jason Weinkauf. All three were able to continue, but fell to the back of the pack.

It was a single file restart with nine to go and Sauter pulled away as Majeski and Fredrickson put on a spirited battle for the second spot.

At the checkers, it was Sauter picking his official first Oktoberfest 200 presented by JE Pistons victory while Majeski edged Fredrickson at the line for second.

“Johnny was just a little bit better. Our car was pretty good, it really was,” Majeski said after the race. “I tried to get it done at the end and I was playing more defense then offense. Danny and I were racing pretty hard and that was a lot of fun. When I had a few open laps, I could maintain with Johnny but not catch him. Overall he was just better.”

Fredrickson saw an opportunity with the final double file restart with 15 laps to go in the race. Sauter and Majeski both chose the inside line, allowing Fredrickson to grab the outside front row for the restart.

“I got a wife to go home too, and I was in third, and nobody took the outside, she would lock me out the door,” Fredrickson said with a grin. “I tried, but I just about wrecked going into the corner and the brakes were fading. I forgot to pump them up and we went in there and I about crashed it, if I pumped them I may have gotten the lead.”

Dalton Zehr finished fourth with Andrew Morrissey rounding out the top five.

Michael Ostdiek finished 17th and was crowned the 2017 ARCA Midwest Tour presented by SCAG Power Equipment Rookie of the Year.

The finish:

Johnny Sauter, Ty Majeski, Dan Fredrickson, Dalton Zehr, Andrew Morrissey, Jonathan Eilen, Paul Shafer Jr., Justin Mondiek, Erik Darnell, Skylar Holzhausen, Derek Kraus, Travis Sauter, Casey Johnson, Nick Murgic, Travis Dassow, Jacob Goede, Michael Ostdiek, Austin Nason, Dean LaPointe, Michael Sauter, Jason Weinkauf, Dillon Hammond, Bubba Pollard, Jim Sauter Jr., Matt Kocourek, John DeAngelis Jr., Chris Weinkauf, Dennis Prunty.