Joe Shear Classic Next For Midwest Tour


OREGON, Wis. – The ARCA Midwest Tour returns to Madison Int’l Speedway this weekend for the sixth annual Joe Shear Classic.

The 100-lap feature event will have a break at lap 64, with the remaining 36 laps serving as a shootout in honor of the number that Shear carried throughout most of his career.

For the past five years, the Joe Shear Classic has been one of the most exciting events of the season and five different drivers have been in victory lane. Nathan Haseleu was the first driver to win the Joe Shear Classic when it began in 2009. One of Shear’s toughest competitors in the later years of his career, Steve Carlson, took home the trophy in 2010. In 2011, Ross Kenseth won the event and in 2012 Andrew Morrissey took home the checkered flag in his first ever Midwest Tour victory.

Last year Dan Fredrickson and Johnny Sauter put on a show that the fans will never forget while fighting for the lead in the Joe Shear Classic. Travis Sauter patiently waited for things to iron out between the two, which they did, unfortunately to the end of Johnny’s day. After the field went green for the final time, Travis showed what he had left as he raced Fredrickson, making the pass and claiming the honor as the fifth annual Joe Shear Classic winner.

Sauter is starting his 2013 season with 10 consecutive wins in a super late model at half-mile oval in Oregon, Wis., making him the favorite to win his second Joe Shear Classic.