Jackson Lands ARCA Trucks Victory


TOLEDO, Ohio – The ARCA Truck Series paid a visit to Toledo Speedway Friday for the CGS Imaging 50-lap main event on the half-mile paved oval.

Points leader Danny Jackson zipped to the victory, topping Levi Mansfield, Shaun Szep, Brandon Huff and Todd Gearhart. The series paid tribute to Michael Fridley, the Truck Series pace truck driver who passed away recently. During the parade laps, the fans stood and waived checkered flags provided by the Series as the field went down pit road, leaving only the pace truck on the track. More than 500 balloons were also released in Mike’s memory.

The ARCA Praxair Figure 8’s staged a 20 lap feature race, as Robbie Loving took the lead on lap 11 after tangling with his son, Race, for the lead. Dennis Whisman had no place to go and tagged the spinning car of Race, ending the rookie’s night.

Robbie was able to continue on and grabbed the victory over Jeremy Vanderhoof, Scott Apperson, Randy Roberts, Dan Apperson, Dennis Whisman, David Katafiasz, Ian Jezylo, Stephanie Bradley, John Lambert, Race Loving and Dave Lambert. Heat race wins went to Katafiasz, who picked up his initial checkered flag in Figure 8 competition, and Whisman.

Tom O’Leary IV made it 8 for 8 on the 8th of August by winning the 25 lap ARCA R & M Recycling X Car feature on the ¼ mile oval. Tom also posted fast time and won his heat race event.

Dennis Whisman took second in the feature, with Archie Padgett, Rich Abel, Craig Osenbaugh, Dave Golembiewski, Joe Rozek, James McClure and Justin Rodriguez following at the finish. Golembiewski also notched a heat race win.