All Systems Go For Montgomery In Ohio Romp


WAVERLY, Ohio — Jason Montgomery topped the largest field in O’Reilly All Star Late Model Series history Satur-day night en route to winning the topless 50-lap feature at K-C Raceway.

Of the 59 cars in the pits only 24 were granted the pleasure of starting the feature, with Doug Drown and Rod Conley leading the field to the green flag. Conley led the first six laps before Steve Casebolt took over the top spot.

Third-starting Montgomery dispatched Conley for second on lap 17 before setting his sights on Casebolt. A caution flag on lap 21 for Drown’s flat tire allowed Montgomery to close the gap, eventually dispatching Casebolt on lap 32 to take the lead.

Casebolt made one last-ditch effort to take the lead back from Montgomery on the last lap in turn one, with the duo making contact. That didn’t stop Montgomery, who held on to win at the three-eighths-mile dirt oval.

Casebolt was second ahead of Jason Feger, Darrell Lanigan and Steve Francis.

Robbie Blair, who finished eighth, claimed the series title.

The finish:

Jason Montgomery, Steve Casebolt, Jason Feger, Darrell Lanigan, Steve Francis, Rod Conley, Zack Dohm, Robbie Blair, R.J. Conley, Jeep VanWormer, Delmas Conley, Gregg Satterlee, Jared Miley, Donnie Moran, Eddie Carrier, Jr., John Mason, Audie Swartz, Greg Johnson, Rick Aukland, Duane Chamberlain, Greg Oliver, Doug Drown, Russ Frohnapfel, Matt Lux.