Super Matt Invades 358 Show


AKWESASNE, N.Y. — Super DIRTcar Series traveling star Matt Sheppard took his small-block show on the road Friday night and survived rain-soaked track conditions to capture the Hoosier Tire-VP Racing Fuels Mr. DIRTcar 358-Modified Championship Series A&M Beverage 75 at Mohawk Int’l Raceway.

“Super Matt” collected $4,000 after a dominant run aboard the JB Motorsports No. 9s Xtreme Lubricants/Bicknell entry in his 2010 DIRTcar 358-Modified debut — his first small-block tour victory since Super DIRT Week on the Syracuse Mile in 2003.

“This car was just awesome tonight, just like we were last time here with the big-block series,” remarked Sheppard. “We were able to bring it home tonight, just had the luck go our way.”

In a rough and tumble affair that required eight caution periods and one red flag, big-block veteran Billy Decker crossed the line second followed by Frenchman Kayle Robidoux, Danny Johnson and new Mr. DIRTcar 358-Modified point-leader Danny O’Brien.

The finish:
Matt Sheppard, Billy Decker, Kayle Robidoux, Danny Johnson, Danny O’Brien, Todd Stewart, Jeremy Wilder, Jeff Sykes, Mike Perrotte, Perry Francis, Pierre Dagenais, Pete Bicknell, Luke Whitteker, Mat Williamson, John Lazore, Pat O’Brien, Tommy Flannigan, Roy Tarbell, Carey Terrance, Mario Clair, Stephane LaFrance, Todd Stone, David Hebert, Laurent Ladouceur, Brett Hearn, Dave Heaslip, Roy Delormier, Eric Gauvreau, Rick Richner, Dale Planck, Tom Jock, Jr., Joel Doiron, Pat Ward.