A Record 23 WoO Sprint Winners

Donny Schatz was named the 410 sprint car Driver of the Year for the fifth time.
Donny Schatz, shown at Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway, won the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series championship and was one of 23 drivers to win a feature in the series.

CONCORD, N.C. — While Donny Schatz was the epitome of consistency during the second half of the season to claim his fifth World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series championship, 2012 was a year of parity for the premier sprint car tour.

In 74 points events, a record 23 drivers won at least one feature victory, including five first-time winners — Danny Dietrich, Brad Sweet, Lucas Wolfe, Travis Jacobson and Sean Becker.

Only two drivers – Schatz and Sammy Swindell — recorded two consecutive victories one time during the campaign.

Swindell led the series in feature wins with 13 — his most since 1997, which was the last year he won the championship. Swindell also recorded a series-best 21 heat race wins, 14 quick times and 143 bonus points in qualifying.

While the veteran ended a top those categories, diversity was spread across the board. A total of 58 drivers took the checkered flag first in at least one heat race, 21 drivers set a quick time and 63 drivers earned at least one bonus point in qualifying.

Craig Dollansky, whose runner-up performance in the standings was his best result since 2006, ended on top in feature laps led — a category that 35 drivers put their name in.

Twenty-seven drivers won a dash, with Kerry Madsen earning a series-best eight.

Kraig Kinser and Jac Haudenschild each finished with the most Last Chance Showdown wins as 46 drivers picked up at least one victory in the consolation race.

Schatz, who finished in the top five in feature victories, feature laps led, dash wins, bonus points earned in qualifying and heat race victories, ended with a series-best seven KSE Hard Charger Awards as 39 drivers earned at least one.


Previous articleMartin & Cooper Commit To Classic TT Races
Next articleCoons Leads NMDOTY Title Battle
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.