48 Sprints Targeting Charlotte Dirt Track Glory

48 Cars Targeting
A loaded field of World of Outlaws stars will invade The Dirt Track at Charlotte this weekend. (Russell Moore photo)

CONCORD, N.C. – Nearly 50 of the country’s top sprint car drivers are expected to be in attendance when the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series closes its season this weekend at The Dirt Track at Charlotte.

Led by defending tour champion Brad Sweet and 10-time titlist Donny Schatz, the field for the World of Outlaws Last Call features five drivers who have previously won the World of Outlaws crown, as well as nine past feature winners at the four-tenths-mile dirt track.

In addition to Sweet and Schatz – who will pilot their familiar entries for Kasey Kahne Racing with Mike Curb and Tony Stewart/Curb-Agajanian Racing, respectively – three-time champion Sammy Swindell, 2013 titlist Daryn Pittman and 1995 king Dave Blaney are expected to be in attendance.

David Gravel, who swept last November’s World Finals doubleheader at The Dirt Track at Charlotte, will seek to extend his winning record during the Last Call. It’s his final weekend with Jason Johnson Racing before moving over to Big Game Motorsports for the 2021 World of Outlaws campaign.

Carson Macedo will give Kyle Larson Racing its final hurrah with the World of Outlaws as he chases a maiden Charlotte victory, while Oklahoma’s Wayne Johnson and California’s Mason Daniel settle the fight for Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year honors.

Past World of Outlaws winners at Charlotte expected to be in the field include Swindell, Schatz, Gravel, Pittman, Schuchart, Ian Madsen, Greg Wilson, Brian Brown and Paul McMahan.

Notables not on from the entry list include Aaron Reutzel, who was announced as the new driver of the Roth Motorsports No. 83 for 2021 on Friday morning, and 2019 May Charlotte winner Gio Scelzi.

Scelzi is closing his ARCA Menards Series West season out on Saturday at Arizona’s Phoenix Raceway with Bill McAnally Racing, leading to his absence from the two-day Charlotte weekend.

The complete provisional entry list can be viewed below.

Action for the opening night of the Last Call is scheduled to begin at approximately 5 p.m.

World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series Entry List – The Dirt Track at Charlotte

(48 cars as of Nov. 5)

#1 – Sammy Swindell – Germantown, Tenn.
#1a – Jacob Allen – Hanover, Pa.
#1s – Logan Schuchart – Hanover, Pa.
#2 – Carson Macedo – Lemoore, Calif.
#2c – Wayne Johnson – Oklahoma City, Okla.
#2m – Kerry Madsen – St. Mary’s, NSW, Australia
#2x – Bill Balog – North Pole, Alaska
#3c – Cale Conley – Vienna, W.Va.
#3z – Brock Zearfoss – Jonestown, Pa.
#5 – Brent Marks – Myerstown, Pa.
#6 – Bill Rose – Plainfield, Ind.
#6x – Frank Rodgers – Lucas, Iowa
#7bc – Tyler Courtney – Indianapolis, Ind.
#7ny – Matt Farnham – Tonawanda, N.Y.
#7s – Jason Sides – Bartlett, Tenn.
#9 – James McFadden – Warrnambool, VIC, Australia
#9k – Kasey Kahne – Enumclaw, Wash.
#10 – Dave Blaney – Hartford, Ohio
#11 – Ian Madsen – St. Mary’s, NSW, Australia
#11k – Kraig Kinser – Bloomington, Ind.
#12 – Brent Shearer – Manheim, Pa.
#13 – Justin Peck – Monrovia, Ind.
#14 – Tim Kaeding – San Jose, Calif.
#15 – Donny Schatz – Fargo, N.D.
#17 – Sheldon Haudenschild – Wooster, Ohio
#19 – Paige Polyak – Tiffin, Ohio
#W20 – Greg Wilson – Benton Ridge, Ohio
#21 – Brian Brown – Grain Valley, Mo.
#21x – Christopher Bell – Norman, Okla.
#26 – Cory Eliason – Visalia, Calif.
#27 – Tucker Klaasmeyer – Paola, Kan.
#33m – Mason Daniel – Springville, Calif.
#39 – Spencer Bayston – Lebanon, Ind.
#39m – Anthony Macri – Dillsburg, Pa.
#40 – George Hobaugh – Chicora, Pa.
#41 – David Gravel – Watertown, Conn.
#44s – Trey Starks – Puyallup, Wash.
#49 – Brad Sweet – Grass Valley, Calif.
#49d – Shawn Dancer – Delphas, Ohio
#51 – Paul McMahan – Nashville, Tenn.
#55 – Hunter Schuerenberg – Sikeston, Mo.
#57 – Kyle Larson – Elk Grove, Calif.
#59 – Johnny Petrozelle III – Denton, N.C.
#70 – Nick Tucker – Kannapolis, N.C.
#71 – Shane Stewart – Bixby, Okla.
#71p – Parker Price-Miller – Kokomo, Ind.
#72 – Daryn Pittman – Owasso, Okla.
#83 – Dominic Scelzi – Fresno, Calif.