Veal Dominates Premier Sprint Show


WARRNAMBOOL, Australia – Jamie Veal remains unbeaten since the start of the 2014/15 season at Premier Speedway after winning round five of the ENZED World Series Sprintcars, while South Australia’s Luke Dillon claimed the Speedweek title.

Dillon sealed his second Revolution Racegear Quicktime of the week to beat a 54 car field with a 10.901 while Veal timed in fourth, however it was American Kyle Hirst who was leading the series after the two rounds of heats.

In a script written perfectly for a nail biting finish, the Race Safety Equipment Top 8 Shootout featured the top six drivers in overall series points, as well reigning World Series Champion, Steven Lines, and Jamie Veal, who entered the event with seven wins from 12 starts in the 2014/15 season.

It was Dave Murcott who stole the shootout however, with Veal just 61 thousandths of a second behind, with Dillon and Lines rounding out the four, and consequently the first two rows of the A-Main. The feature event was a cracker that shuffled the first four rows in the opening laps, until Brad Keller took an unceremonious roll along the front straight to end his night.

With the field reassembled, the No. 17 Milwaukee/Monte Motorsport entry of Hirst restarted from fourth and only needed to keep his position to clinch the Speedweek title and the $10,000 bonus in the process. But a turn two mistake forced him into the wall on his own, leaving him to skid down the back straight with a destroyed front end, and heartbreakingly into the infield, sacrificing the Speedweek payday.

The ball was now in Dillon’s hands as the next contestant to best positioned for the Speedweek win, and as Veal dominated the restarts after crashes from Nick Lacey and Ryan Jones, Dillon was left to play it safe and hold his fifth spot to claim the prize. Veal went on to win in dominant fashion over Lines, Murcott and Brooke Tatnell, and Dillon holding on to fifth over James McFadden.

“I was a bit nervous out there to be honest,” Veal said in victory lane. “It was just so fast, but I just tried to keep a level head and get the job done and now we can call that the eighth win of the season from thirteen starts.”

Dillon attributed his Speedweek win to just plain old consistency, taking the prize without a round win, but finishing in the top six for all five nights.

“We put the car on pole a few times over the week from timing well and being patient in the heats, but this $10k will go towards the $100k that we spent getting ready for this week,” Dillon said.

The finish:

Jamie Veal, Steven Lines, David Murcott, Brooke Tatnell, Luke Dillon, James McFadden, Danny Holtgraver, Dylan Jenkin, Darren Mollenoyux, Matt Egel, Darren Jensen, John Vogels, Mike House, Chad Ely, Brent Aprile, Nick Lacey, Ryan Jones, Kyle Hirst, Bradley Keller, Scott Bogucki.