Vander Weerd Grabs Thunderbowl Glory


TULARE, Calif. — Richard Vander Weerd took the lead from Bud Kaeding with two laps remaining and won Saturday night’s Harry Talbot Memorial for the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series at Thunderbowl Raceway.

Vander Weerd led the first 13 laps of the third-mile oval before Kaeding moved out front on lap 14. But Vander Weerd battled back and grabbed the point on lap 29, leading the final two circuits for the victory.

Danny Faria Jr. finished second with Austin Liggett, Jace Vander Weerd and D.J. Netto completing the top five.

The finish:

Richard Vander Weerd, Danny Faria Jr., Austin Liggett, Jace Vander Weerd, D.J. Netto, Rusty Carlile, Matt Mitchell, Troy Rutherford, Jim Richardson, Kevin Barnes, James Sweeney, Matt Day, Jeff Sibley, Luke Keegan, Bud Kaeding, Austin Stone, Landon Hurst, Markus Niemela, Max Adams.