Vander Weerd Claims Jewett Memorial


SANTA MARIA, Calif. – Richard Vander Weerd took home the big trophy Saturday night after winning the 40-lap John Jewett Memorial Billett Cup for the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series at Santa Maria Speedway.

Vander Weerd set fast time for the 20-car field, but had to work for the victory. Chris Ennis grabbed the lead at the outset and remained in control for the first 18 laps at the third-mile dirt oval.

Multi-time USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series champion Mike Spencer took the lead on lap 19 and looked to have the race in hand before Vander Weerd arrived on the scene. On lap 35 Vander Weerd made his move, taking the lead from Spencer en route to victory.

Spencer ended up second, followed by Ryan Bernal, Bud Kaeding and Danny Faria, Jr.