Large Prizes Await Drivers At The Oval Nationals

Defending Oval Nationals winner Damion Gardner hopes to repeat in November. (Neil Cavanah Photo)

PERRIS, Calif. – Big money awaits competitors at the 22nd annual running of the Budweiser Oval Nationals presented by All Coast Construction Nov. 9-11 at Perris Auto Speedway.

Featuring the best from USAC’s AMSOIL National Sprint Car and USAC/CRA Sprint Car divisions, the three-night event provides a total purse of $108,280 to competitors, including $5,000 to preliminary A-Main winners on Thursday and Friday and a $25,000 grand prize to the winner of Saturday night’s finale.

The Oval Nationals are the season-enders for both the USAC National and CRA series and a pair of chases for the title will be on the line. Damion Gardner is the defending winner of the Oval Nationals and currently, owns a 96-point lead over Brody Roa in the USAC/CRA standings as he aims for a sixth series title. Meanwhile, Justin Grant currently presides over a 45-point lead ahead of Chris Windom, winner of the 2010 Oval Nationals.

Perris has hosted the Oval Nationals since 1996 when Jimmy Sills captured the victory. Since then, a number of USAC champion drivers have won Saturday night’s A-Main including Rip Williams, Tony Jones, Cory Kruseman, Bud Kaeding, Dave Darland, Mike Spencer, Robert Ballou and Bryan Clauson. USAC began sanctioning of the event in 2004.