Thomas Stops Abreu In Calistoga Sprint

Kevin Thomas Jr. was recently named the Non-Winged Sprint Car Driver of the Year. (Steve Elliott photo)

CALISTOGA, Calif. — Kevin Thomas Jr. ran down Rico Abreu in the closing laps to win Saturday night’s 30-lap 10th Louie Vermeil Classic AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint race at Calistoga Speedway, the opening event of California Sprint Week.

Thomas trailed Abreu for 26 laps, then led the final four to beat Abreu, Tyler Courtney, Ryan Bernal and point leader Brody Roa.

Tanner Thorson won the midget feature.

The finish:

Kevin Thomas Jr., Rico Abreu, Tyler Courtney, Ryan Bernal, Brody Roa, Geoff Ensign, Jake Swanson, Ronnie Gardner, Colby Copeland, Chase Johnson, Richard Vander Weerd, Damion Gardner, Mike Spencer, Jace Vander Weerd, Klint Simpson, Austin Williams, Jeremy Ellertson, Logan Williams, Max Adams, Austin Liggett, Joe Stornetta Jr., Chris Gansen, Cody Williams, Chad Boespflug.