Sumar Classic Offers Two Silver Crown Battles


TERRE HAUTE, Ind. – Saturday’s Sumar Classic 100 at Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track not only offers a “shootout” for the 2012 USAC TRAXXAS Silver Crown driver championship, it will also feature the all-time battle for supremacy among car entrants, with 6R Racing and Tony Stewart Racing/Curb-Agajanian separated by just one victory.

Drivers Bobby East, Jerry Coons Jr. and Kody Swanson are separated by just 11 points, while car owners RW/Curb-Agajanian, Tony Stewart/Curb-Agajanian and RW/Curb-Agajanian are separated in the car entrant points by just 35. Six-R Racing stands just 53 out of the lead.

The all-time leader in terms of Silver Crown victories is Six-R Racing with 27. Stewart is second at 26. Six-R will field entries for Dave Darland, Brian Tyler, Kody and Tanner Swanson and Taylor Ferns, while Stewart’s driver will be East. The RW/Curb-Agajanian drivers will be Bryan Clauson and Coons.

Six-R first burst on the victory podium in 1992 with Jim Keeker’s win at Phoenix, Ariz. In the ensuing victories they have encompassed drivers Jack Hewitt, Dave Steele, Tyler and the two Swansons.

Since Jason Leffler’s initial Stewart victory at Phoenix in 2000, other drivers victories have included Kasey Kahne, J.J. Yeley, Steele, Jay Drake, Josh Wise, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Levi Jones, Clauson and East.

Coons is the latest of drivers for RW Motorsports/Curb-Agajanian, who also fielded Mat Neely’s first at Eldora Speedway in 2006 and a 2012 win by Shane Hmiel. They have eight total wins, including two this year.

East sits atop the driver standings eyeing his first Silver Crown crown, piloting the Stewart/Curb-Agajanian entry. Coons is second in the points in an RW/Curb-Agajanian entry and Kody Swanson ranks third in one of the Six-R Racing entries.

Stewart/Curb-Agajanian entries won at Terre Haute in 2003, 2005 and 2010, while 6R Racing entries won at Terre Haute in 1999 and 2004. A win by RW/Curb-Agajanian would be their first at the half-mile oval.