Spencer Breaks Through At Thunderbowl


TULARE, Calif. — Five-time AMSOIL USAC-CRA Sprint Car Series champion Mike Spencer picked up his first victory of the season Saturday night at Thunderbowl Raceway.

Spencer took the lead from Ryan Bernal on lap 27 of the third-mile dirt track and led the final four circuits, ending point leader Damion Gardner’s three-race winning streak.

Bernal finished second ahead of Danny Faria Jr., Bud Kaeding and Matt Mitchell.

Gardner was the fast qualifier, but flipped during the dash and battled back to a sixth-place finish in the feature.

The finish:

Mike Spencer, Ryan Bernal, Danny Faria Jr., Bud Kaeding, Matt Mitchell, Damion Gardner, Austin Williams, Nic Faas, Richard Vander Weerd, Brody Roa, Cody Williams, Jace Vander Weerd, Rip Williams, Seth Wilson, D.J. Johnson, Rusty Carlile, Marty Hawkins.