Silver Crown Returning To Pikes Peak


INDIANAPOLIS – The addition of the historic Belleville (Kans.) High Banks and returns to paved ovals at Pikes Peak Int’l Raceway and Gateway Motorsports Park enhance the expanded slate of 2013 USAC Traxxas Silver Crown Championship events announced today.

(2013 USAC Mopar National Midget Series Schedule and 2013 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series Schedule)

A total of 11 events comprise the preliminary schedule, opening with the “Sumar Classic 100” at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track on April 28 and again concludes with the annual “4-Crown Nationals” at the Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio Sept. 21.

The storied Belleville (Kans.) High Banks, already announced as an Aug. 2 date, will host its inaugural Silver Crown event as part of this year’s “Belleville Nationals.”

Returning to the series in 2013 are events at Gateway Motorsports Park in Madison, Ill. and Pikes Peak Int’l Raceway in Fountain, Colo. and the famed Milwaukee (Wisc.) Mile is targeted for a July race yet to be announced.

Gateway hosts the series June 1 and the Pikes Peak race is June 29. The Silver Crown cars last competed at Gateway in 2001 and the race Silver Crown race at Pikes Peak occurred in 2005. Milwaukee last hosted a 2011 race.

The “USAC Hall of Fame” race May 18 and “J.D. Byrider 100” July 27 are on the slate at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis, while the traditional one-mile dirt races return at Springfield and DuQuoin, Ill. and Indianapolis, Ind. The “Hoosier Hundred” In Indianapolis is May 23, “Tony Bettenhausen 100” at Springfield is Aug. 17 and the “Ted Horn 100” at DuQuoin is Sept. 1.

2013 USAC Traxxas Silver Crown Series Schedule

Date – Track – Location

April 28 – Terre Haute Action Track – Terre Haute, Ind.

May 18 – Lucas Oil Raceway – Clermont, Ind.

May 23 – Indiana State Fairgrounds – Indianapolis, Ind.

June 1 – Gateway Motorsports Park – Madison, Ill.

June 29 – Pikes Peak Int’l Raceway – Fountain, Colo.

July TBA – The Milwaukee Mile – West Allis, Wis.

July 27 – Lucas Oil Raceway – Clermont, Ind.

Aug. 2 – Belleville High Banks – Belleville, Kan.

Aug. 17 – Illinois State Fairgrounds – Springfield, Ill.

Sept. 1 – DuQuoin State Fairgrounds – DuQuoin, Ill.

Sept. 21 – Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, Ohio

Previous articleCORE Autosport Retains Drivers
Next articleMajor Races Dot USAC Midget Schedule is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.