R.J. Johnson Rules Southwest Sprints


PEORIA, Ariz. — R.J. Johnson won Saturday night’s season opener for the Sands Chevrolet USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series at Canyon Speedway Park.

Johnson took the lead from Stevie Sussex on lap four of the second annual Steve Stroud Memorial and led the remainder of the distance for the victory.

Sussex finished second, with Charles Davis Jr., Michael Curtis and Tye Mihocko rounding out the top five.

The finish:

R.J. Johnson, Stevie Sussex, Charles Davis Jr., Michael Curtis, Tye Mihocko, Josh Pelkey, Landon Cling, Dennis Gile, Mike Martin, Matt Lundy, Colton Moroney, Johnny Shelton, Tyler Adams, Larry Kesterson, Mason Keefer, Wayne Siddle.


Previous articleWalker Arthur Tops East Bay Crates
Next articleAnderson Runs Down Roczen In Oakland
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.