Pelkey Sprints To Canyon Glory


PEORIA, Ariz. — Josh Pelkey carried his early-season momentum into Saturday night’s Canyon Speedway Park deason opener by racing to victory lane in the 30-lap feature that kicked off the USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series campaign.

While Pelkey bested the wingless sprint car ranks, other winners were Ty Weidner in pure stocks, Colton Hardy in micro sprints and Brenden Priest in AMA Mod Lites.

After finishing among the top five in five of six Winter Challenge feature events at CSP, sixth-starter Pelkey took command when early leader Mike Bonneau crashed out after two laps and led the rest of the way to take the season-opening win aboard the ABC Body Shop No. 12 entry.

Pelkey took the checkered flag ahead of defending USAC Southwest sprint car champion R.J. Johnson, who claimed runner-up honors from the 11th starting position, with Shon Deskins, Thomas Ogle and Andrew Reinbold rounding out the top five.

Mike Martin turned in the top passing performance by racing from 18th to sixth with Lonnie Oliver, Michael Curtis, Tye Mihocko and Nick Aiuto completing the top 10.

In pure stock action, Ty Weidner raced from the sixth starting position as well to top a stout field of 26 entries with Chris McCurdy, Jr., 11th-starter Joe Vlasity and front row starters Ty Warner and Chuck Thornton rounding out the top five.

Colton Hardy clamed micro sprint honors from the pole position ahead of Dustin Cormany and Garrett Guilkey, with Brenden Priest carrying over his Winter Challenge success by taking AMA Mod Lite honors ahead of Adam Etcher and John Priest.