Johnson’s Afternoon Delight


PEORIA, Ariz. — R.J. Johnson put a stop to Bryan Clauson’s stranglehold on Canyon Speedway Park victory lane by topping Saturday afternoon’s 30-lap Winter Challenge USAC Southwest vs. USAC West Coast non-winged sprint car feature.

Defending his home turf, Johnson’s $2,000 triumph put a four-race Clauson win streak dating back to last November’s Western World Championships by taking the checkered flag in the Weiler Farms/Pecon Builders No. 51 after Clauson blew a right rear-tire tire on the white flag while challenging for the point.

Starting from the front row outside, Johnson led all 30 laps but had to fend off challenges from Clauson along the way before edging third-starter Jon Stanbrough at the line. Ryan Bernal advanced from 11th claim the show position, with Charles Davis, Jr., and Josh Pelkey rounding out the top five.

Ryan Roath raced from the 21st starting position to take IMCA Modified honors in front of William Gould, with George Fronsman, 12th-starter Jesse Sobbing and 14th-starter D.J. Wood rounding out the top five.

While Johnson bested the sprint car ranks, Ryan Roath became the third different IMCA Modified feature winner in as many Winter Challenge events as Bo Partain and Dustin Cormany both backed up Friday night feature wins in pure stock and mini sprint action, respectively.

The finish:

R.J. Johnson, Jon Stanbrough, Bernal, Charles Davis Jr., Josh Pelkey, Robert Ballou, Rick Ziehl, Richard Vander Weerd, Kevin Thomas Jr., Colby Copeland, Bruce St. James, Stevie Sussex, Jason Grady, Mike Martin, Brian Hosford, Bryan Clauson, Jeremy Sherman, Bud Kaeding, Joshua Hodges, Jace Vander Weerd, Jimmy Crawford, Thomas Ogle.