Johnson Tops Border Tour Opener


LAS CRUCES, N.M. — R.J. Johnson claimed Saturday night’s Border Tour sprint car race at Southern New Mexico Speedway.

The event was co-sanctioned by the USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series and NMMRA.

Johnson outran Tye Mihockoko for the victory with Mike Martin third.

The finish:

R.J. Johnson, Tye Mihockoko, Mike Martin, Josh Pelkey, Charles Davis Jr., Josh Hodges, Shon Deskins, Bo Baker, Jesse Baker, Randy Smith, Stephen Nix, Don Grable, Brian Hosford, Matt Rossi, Michael Curtis, Nick Auito, Dillon Tanner, Michael Fanelli, Kyle McCutcheon, Matt Ziehl, Ronnie Smith, David Dykes, Andy Reinbold, Katherine Aragon.