R.J. Johnson Takes Salute To Indy Finale


PEORIA, Ariz. – R.J. Johnson defended a portion of his Salute to Indy Crown by topping Sunday night’s 30-lap USAC Southwest Sprint Car feature event atop the third-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval that put the wraps on the track’s third annual event.

After sweeping last year’s Salute to Indy, defending USAC Southwest champion Johnson took Sunday night’s win after Josh Pelkey claimed Saturday night honors.

Johnson took off from the outset to take USAC Southwest Sprint Car honors in front of fellow front row starter Joshua Hodges with Tye Mihocko racing from 12th to claim show honors. Mike Martin and Michael Colegrove rounded out the top five.

While Johnson enjoyed USAC Southwest victory lane for the second time this year, other winners in the Salute to Indy finale included Mike Welker in Challenge Cup Sprint Cars, Dennis Carrier in Micro Sprints, John Priest in Mod Lites and Mike Strobel in Dwarf Cars.

The finish:

R.J. Johnson, Joshua Hodges, Tye Mihocko, Mike Martin, Michael Colegrove, Michael Curtis, Colby Copeland, Andrew Reinbold, Thomas Ogle, Chris Bonneau, Michael Bonneau, Shon Deskins, Nick Aiuto, Dennis Giles, Brian Hosford, Dustin Cormany, Bruce St. James, Lonnie Oliver, Josh Pelkey, Matt Rossi, Stevie Sussex, Mike Morin, Charles Davis Jr.