Johnson Stuns Deskins In El Paso


EL PASO, Texas – R.J. Johnson stole a victory from Shon Deskins Friday night at El Paso Speedway Park.

Deskins dominated the USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series feature at the three-eighths-mile clay oval, leading the first 29 laps. Unfortunately for Deskins he didn’t lead the most important one, the last lap.

Johnson slid by Deskins on the final lap and held on to win the 30-lap feature, his seventh series victory of the season.

Deskins settled for second ahead of Matt Rossi, Josh Hodges and Tye Mihicko.

The finish:

R.J. Johnson, Shon Deskins, Matt Rossi, Josh Hodges, Tye Mihicko, Jesse Baker, Randy Smith, Bo Baker, Brian Hosford, Jason Grady, Michael Curtis, Dillon Tanner, Nick Aiuto, Josh Pelkey, Mike Martin, Matthew Cardienas, Don Grable, Stephen Nix, Rick Ziehl, Charles Davis Jr., Gary Gonzales, Robert Herrera.