R.J. Johnson Stops Clauson At Canyon Oval


PEORIA, Ariz. — R.J. Johnson put a stop to Bryan Clauson’s reign of Canyon Speedway Park domination by winning Saturday night’s sixth annual Copper on Dirt 30-lap event in the AMSOIL USAC-CRA Sprint Car ranks after Clauson had earlier completed a sweep of the weekend’s USAC Western States Midget action atop the third-mile clay oval.

While Phoenix native Johnson bested the sprint car ranks and Clauson conquered the midgets, Garrett Alberson took Copper on Dirt honors in West Coast late model action with George Fronsman victorious in IMCA modified competition.

After starting from the second row inside, Johnson took the lead away from Bruce St. James on the second round and led the rest of the way for Copper on Dirt honors in the 30-lap USAC-CRA feature aboard the Martin owned Weiler Farms/Pecon Builders to deny Clauson his ninth CSP triumph in 10 feature starts.

Johnson took the checkered flag ahead of front row outside starter Nic Faas, with Clauson settling for third. Damion Gardner climbed from 12th to fourth, with Ryan Bernal charging from 19th to round out the top five.

Starting from the front row outside, Clauson completed a sweep of the weekend’s USAC Western States Midget Copper on Dirt action after chasing Kody Swanson for the opening 18 rounds of the 25-lapper.

Clauson took command on the 19th circuit aboard the Tucker/BCI/Curb-Agajanian No. 39 and beat Rico Abreu to the stripe, with fast qualifier Christopher Bell rebounding from an early spin to claim the show position. R.J. Johnson was fourth, with Kyle Larson showing up in time to tag the field and race from 21st to round out the top five.

Alberson bested the late models by racing from the second row inside to take the checkered flag in front of reigning series champion Clay Daly, with Anthony Madrid, Nick Bartels and Tony Torte rounding out the top five.

George Fronsman raced from the pole position to take top IMCA modified honors ahead of 10th-starter Anthony Madrid with Guy Norton, Ricky Thornton, Jr., and Brandon Eichelberger rounding out the top five.