Johnson Claims Canyon’s Salute To Indy


PEORIA, Ariz. – R.J. Johnson continued his hot streak in USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series action atop the third-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval by winning the opening leg of the second annual Salute to Indy on Saturday night.

While the Phoenix shoe topped his third USAC Southwest points event in as many tries at CSP, other Saturday night Salute to Indy winners included Josh Shipley in LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars, Dave Van Ess in Micro Sprints and Chaz Baca, Jr., in the AMA Mod Lites.

Entering the weekend atop the USAC Southwest Sprint Car point charts, Johnson raced from the front row outside to his fourth win of the season in points action aboard the Michaels No. 77m Kodiak Products Sherman-chassis ahead of reigning Arizona Sprint Car champion Charles Davis Jr.

New Mexico’s Joshua Hodges chased Johnson and Davis Jr., to the stripe, with Mike Martin and 12th-starter Andrew Reinbold rounding out the top five. Shon Deskins turned in the feature’s top passing performance by racing from 18th to seventh.

Josh Shipley raced from five rows deep to capture his fourth LoanMart Challenge Cup feature triumph in five tries, taking the checkered flag ahead of fellow fifth-row starter Johnny Shelton, Jr., with Jacob Hawkins, Larry Gibson and Mike Visser rounding out the top five.

Dave Van Ess raced from seventh for his first Micro Sprint score of the year at CSP in front of Tyler Ybarra and Colton Hardy, while Chaz Baca Jr., snared his first AMA Mod Lite win from the front row outside in front of pole starter Josh Rivera and John Priest.