It’s All Windom During 50th Tony Hulman Classic

It's All Windom
Chris Windom in victory lane with the Tony Hulman Classic winner's rifle. (Eli Kaikko photo)

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. – On a night that celebrated the golden anniversary of one of the Midwest’s most storied dirt races, Chris Windom and Hayward Motorsports set the gold standard.

Windom led all 30 laps aboard the No. 19 NOS Energy Drink to win the 50th annual Tony Hulman Classic, dominating the half-mile Terre Haute Action Track for his first AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series win of the season.

Putting the sting of a runner-up in the Hulman from a year ago behind him, the 2011 winner of the event claimed the historic winner’s rifle for a second time in dominating fashion, winning by 2.399 seconds over Justin Grant, the current series point leader.

Grant had won three of the last four races entering Wednesday night, but not even a red flag with five laps left for the flipped car of Nick Bilbee – nor a caution at three to go for the stopped car of C.J. Leary – and the two restarts that followed could help him on this night.

Chris Windom (19) races Brady Bacon Wednesday night at Terre Haute Action Track. (Mark Funderburk photo)

Windom stormed away both times and went unchallenged to his 26th career USAC National Sprint Car win, tying him for 18th on the all-time list with Tyler Courtney, Tony Elliott and Dave Steele.

Completing the podium was defending race winner Chase Stockon, followed by Jake Swanson and recent World of Outlaws victor Carson Short, the night’s hard charger after starting 14th.

Tanner Thorson, Kevin Thomas Jr., Max Adams, Brandon Morin and Anton Hernandez closed out the top 10 in the finishing order.

With his win, Windom cut Grant’s lead atop the standings to 40 points.

The AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series continues Friday, July 3, at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Ind., with the opening act of the Bill Gardner Sprintacular.

Lincoln Park’s annual two-night affair will be co-sanctioned by the Midwest Sprint Car Series.

The finish:

Feature (30 laps): 1. Chris Windom (1), 2. Justin Grant (5), 3. Chase Stockon (7), 4. Jake Swanson (8), 5. Carson Short (14), 6. Tanner Thorson (10), 7. Kevin Thomas Jr. (4), 8. Max Adams (2), 9. Brandon Morin (18), 10. Anton Hernandez (9), 11. Matt Westfall (11), 12. Brandon Mattox (15), 13. Chris Phillips (19), 14. Kendall Ruble (12), 15. Nate McMillin (20), 16. Steve Thomas (21), 17. Dustin Smith (16), 18. Brady Bacon (6), 19. C.J. Leary (22), 20. Nick Bilbee (13), 21. Mitchell Davis (17), 22. Mitch Wissmiller (3).

Lap Leader(s): Chris Windom 1-30.

KSE/B&W Hard Charger: Carson Short (+9)