Indiana’s Rose Blooms Out West


CHICO, Calif. — Indiana’s Bill Rose won the inaugural race for the USAC Western Classic Racing Series for non-winged sprint cars during the John Padjen Classic Saturday night at Silver Dollar Speedway.

Rose led all but one circuit during the 30-lap race on the quarter-mile dirt track. Rose paced the first 21 laps, but gave up the lead to USAC National Driving Champion Bryan Clauson, who was the fast qualifier, on lap 22.

However, Clauson tangled with a slower car and spun on the next lap and Rose was back out front.

Rose held off Kyle Hirst to claim the victory with Colby Copeland, Andy Forsberg and Brent Kaeding rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Bill Rose, Kyle Hirst, Colby Copeland, Andy Forsberg, Brent Kaeding, Scott Hull, Tim Sherman, Scott Pierovich, Tim Barber, Marcus Hardina, Jerry Kobza, Shauna Hogg, Bryan Clauson, Marty Hawkins, Matt Streeter, Richard Brace, Jr., Jim Richardson, Cody Smith, Geoff Ensign, Jason York, Brian Bernal, Cole Peard, Jerry Cisco, Tony Hunt, Jeff Shurley, Matt Sherman, Todd Miller, Jr.

Previous articleSwanson Nips Clauson At Chico
Next articleCMS Video Screen Taking Shape is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.