If It’s Canyon, It Must Be Clauson


PEORIA, Ariz. — Bryan Clauson is most assuredly finding Canyon Speedway Park’s third-mile oval to his liking, as he stormed to victory lane in both USAC/CRA Sprint Car and USAC Western Midget series competition during Friday night’s sixth annual Copper on Dirt opener.

Clauson had reached victory lane in five of his six most recent feature starts at CSP before tacking on two more in Friday night’s Copper on Dirt prelim.

Starting from sixth after establishing a quick time of 13.728 second in USAC/CRA sprint car qualifying, Clauson worked his way forward aboard Mike Martin’s No. 16b entry to take the lead away from Nic Faas midway through the 30-lapper after Hunter Schuerenburg paced the initial nine rounds.

Clauson went on to post the win in front of Faas with Bud Kaeding filling out the podium in third. Damion Gardner was fourth in his debut aboard the Alexander racing team as a teammate to Faas, with five-time and reigning series champion Mike Spencer in fifth.

In the 25-lap USAC Western States Midget main event, Clauson raced from fifth to take the lead away from pole starter Ronnie Gardner on the seventh circuit en route to victory lane aboard the Tucker/BCI/Curb-Agajanian No. 39. Kyle Larson chased Clauson to the stripe, with R. Gardner, 12th-starter Christopher Bell and Rico Abreu rounding out the top five.

While Clauson topped both the sprint car and midget features, Don Shaw raced from five rows deep to best the West Coast late model ranks with Jason Noll victorious in IMCA action.

The finishes:

Sprint cars: Bryan Clauson, Nic Faas, Bud Kaeding, Damion Gardner, Mike Spencer, Charles Davis, Jr., Ryan Bernal, Matt Mitchell, Hunter Schuerenberg, Cody Williams, Brody Roa, Rickie Gaunt, Austin Williams, Cory Kruseman, Joshua Hodges, Bruce St. James, David Cardey, David Bezio, Rip Williams, Mike Martin, J.J. Yeley, Johnson, Andrew Reinbold.

Midgets: Bryan Clauson, Kyle Larson, Ronnie Gardner, Christopher Bell, Rico Abreu, Tyler Thomas, Casey Shuman, Scott Pierovich, Kody Swanson, Jake Swanson, R.J. Johnson, Trey Marcham, Dillon Welch, Riley Emmel, Tyler Thorson, Rick Shuman, Troy Rutherford, Terry Goodwin, David Prickett, Stevie Sussex, Alex Sewell.