Grudge Series Racers Seek Halloween Treat


SANTA MARIA, Calif. — As part of the 18th annual Budweiser Oval Nationals, Perris Auto Speedway will host the 360 Oval Nationals featuring the final round of the Grudge Series between the USAC West Coast and USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series.

The race will be held Oct. 31 with $2,500 to the winner at the half-mile oval.
The non-point 360 Oval Nationals will feature a talented roster of drivers from California, Arizona and the Midwest. The event on Halloween night will also mark the first appearance for both groups at Perris.

Last year, Ryan Bernal claimed the inaugural Grudge Series title at Canyon Speedway Park and more than $15,000 was distributed from the point fund.
Heading into the “Grudge Series” finale, Shon Deskins holds an 11-point advantage over the competition. Driving his No. 20 Performance Plus / Ellis Race Cars machine, Deskins set a one-lap track record and scored fourth in Canyon’s “Brawl for It All” Sept. 28. Currently fourth in Southwest points, the veteran driver has not won a USAC feature, but claimed an unsanctioned victory at Show Low on Aug. 31.

Charles Davis Jr. ranks second in the Grudge Series. Piloting the Massey Motorsports No. 50 RSS Industries / Rod End Supply RSS, the five-time Arizona Sprint Car champion raced to fifth in the “Brawl for It All” after starting 11th. Davis is second in the Southwest point chase with six victories in the campaign.

Mike Spencer is third in the mini-series standings. Racing Mark Priestley’s No. 7 Roy Miller Freight Lines / Sander Engineering Maxim, the five-time USAC/CRA Champion won Canyon’s “Brawl for It All.” For Spencer, the triumph marked the first USAC SouthWest and West Coast Series victory of his career. In limited West Coast appearances, Mike finished twenty-ninth in points and will be looking to score the 360 Oval Nationals victory.

Among the other drivers expected to be in action are R.J. Johnson, Colby Copeland, Bruce St. James, “The Magic Man” Mike Martin, Bryan Clauson, Josh Pelkey, Richard Vander Weerd, Andy Reinbold, Bud Kaeding, Bob Ream Jr., Brody Roa, “Hollywood” Danny Faria Jr., Jace Vander Weerd, Markus Niemela and Jon Stanbrough.