Dozen Races For USAC Midwest Regional Midgets


SPEEDWAY, Ind. – USAC’s Midwest Regional Midget Series will compete in 12 events at seven different dirt tracks throughout the states of Indiana and Illinois this year.

Each event will utilize an open format, allowing both current National and SpeeD2 engines.  Each feature race on the schedule will pay $1,200 to win and $125 to start along with tow money for non-qualifiers.

All events on the schedule will pay points toward the USAC Midwest Regional Midget standings and a champion will be crowned at the conclusion of the season.  Furthermore, USAC SpeeD2 licensed competitors will be eligible for bonuses and will earn points toward the USAC Midwest Thunder SpeeD2 Midwest Thunder Midget Championship.

The series opens April 17 on the quarter-mile red clay of Indiana’s Bloomington Speedway, an event which will be held in conjunction with the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship event, the first of two dates for the Regional Midgets at the southern Indiana venue along with an additional trip on June 26.

Two visits to Paragon (Ind.) are on the docket on both May 1 and August 14, along with two dates at fellow Indiana tracks Gas City I-69 Speedway on May 22 and Oct. 2, Kokomo Speedway on May 24 and Oct. 16, as well as USAC’s first ever trips to Circus City Speedway in Peru, Ind. on Aug. 15 and Oct. 3.

The Regional Midgets are in action on Independence Day night, July 4, at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Ind., a doubleheader with the USAC National Sprint Cars.

Meanwhile, the series’ lone visit outside of the Hoosier State takes them to neighboring Illinois and the Land of Lincoln on May 2 at Wayne County Speedway in Wayne City, Ill.

2020 USAC Midwest Regional Midget Series Schedule

April 17 – Bloomington Speedway – Bloomington, Ind.
May 1 – Paragon Speedway – Paragon, Ind.
May 2 – Wayne County Speedway – Wayne City, Ill.
May 22 – Gas City I-69 Speedway – Gas City, Ind.
May 24 – Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Ind.
June 26 – Bloomington Speedway – Bloomington, Ind.
July 4 – Lincoln Park Speedway – Putnamville, Ind.
Aug. 14 – Paragon Speedway – Paragon, Ind.
Aug. 15 – Circus City Speedway – Peru, Ind.
Oct. 2 – Gas City I-69 Speedway – Gas City, Ind.
Oct. 3 – Circus City Speedway – Peru, Ind.
Oct. 16 – Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Ind.