Davis Runs Down Johnson


PEORIA, Ariz. — Charles Davis Jr. won Saturday night’s Canyon Clash for the USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series at Canyon Speedway Park.

Davis and R.J. Johnson traded the lead multiple times with Davis taking the lead for good on lap 26 and leading the final five circuits of the three-eighths-mile dirt track.

Johnson finished second ahead of Matt Rossi, Andy Reinbold and Stevie Sussex.

Joe Vlasity advanced from fifth for Pure Stock honors ahead of Bryson Curry with 12th-starter Speedy Madrid. In Micro Sprint action, Dennis Carrier raced from the tenth starting position to take the checkered flag ahead of Pat Wing. Brenden Priest continued his hot streak in Mod Lite action by winning from the pole.

The finish:

Charles Davis Jr., R.J. Johnson, Matt Rossi, Andy Reinbold, Stevie Sussex, Josh Shipley, Josh Pelkey, Mike Martin, Mike Colegrove, Mike Bonneau, Nick Aiuto, Shon Deskins, Bruce St. James, Brian Hosford, Michael Curtis, Dennis Giles, Tom Lee, Alex Pettas, Mark Morin, Tye Mihocko, Chris Bonneau, Tom Ogle.



Previous articleReaid Rules Anderson Late Models
Next articleHodnett Takes Bob Weikert Memorial
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.