Damion Gardner Lands Sponsor

Damion Gardner

PERRIS, Calif. — Trench Shoring will sponsor Mark Alexander’s No. 4 sprint car driven by six-time USAC-CRA Sprint Car Series champion Damion Gardner.

Celebrating its 15th season, the series will open March 3 at Perris Auto Speedway.

Gardner will be seeking his seventh series title as a driver and Alexander will be seeking the same as a car owner.  Before reeling off the last five titles in a row together, Gardner won the second series championship driving for Ron Chaffin in 2005.  Alexander’s other title came in 2007 with Tony Jones at the wheel.

“I am excited to announce that Trench Shoring has come on board and joined our efforts for 2018,” Gardner said.  “They have sponsored many open-wheel teams in the past and we hope to bring them some more success.  They are coming on board as a premier, secondary sponsor and we may possibly expand that in the future.  It is an honor to be associated with the Trench Shoring name and try to add to their storied history in racing.

“I had never met Tom Malloy before,” the all-time leading USAC-CRA main event leader continued  “I toured his race shop with an invite from Marc Hart.  It is great.  They had sponsored Mike Spencer and I did not want to call them when they had another driver in the series.  When Mike announced his retirement, I gave them a call.  Like I said, I am excited, and they are too.  We are going hard after our sixth championship in a row and bringing Trench Shoring on board will give us a huge boost.”

Gardner enters the campaign with a series-leading 75 USAC-/CRA main event wins.  The next closest driver on the list has 38.  In the combined history of the original CRA, SCRA and now USAC/CRA dating back to 1946, Gardner has 88 wins.  That is good for sixth all time.

The total only leaves him four wins out of a tie for fifth, seven wins out of a tie for fourth and 10 wins out of a tie for third.  If he wins his seventh USAC/CRA championship in 2018, he will be tied with National Sprint Car Hall of Famer Ron Shuman for all-time championships going back to 1946.