Clauson Goes 3-For-4 In Arizona


PEORIA, Ariz. — Bryan Clauson finished off Canyon Speedway Park’s Winter Challenge exactly the way he started it by standing in USAC Southwest vs. USAC West Coast non-winged sprint car victory lane on Saturday night.

Clauson’s third triumph in four rounds of action aboard Mike Martin’s Ultimate Offroad No. 16b, this one worth $5,000, earned him the Winter Challenge championship while Jesse Sobbing took the Winter Challenge in the IMCA Modified ranks.

Starting from the pole position, Clauson led all 30 laps to take the lucrative sprint car winner’s share in front of multi-time Arizona champion Jeremy Sherman, with reigning Arizona champion Charles Davis Jr., in the show position. Colby Copeland charged from 17th to fourth, with Jon Stanbrough rounding out the top five.

With Clauson topping the sprint car finale, William Gould became the fourth different winner in as many IMCA Modified features, Bo Partain picked off his third pure stock win over the course of two days and Josh Shipley bested the micro sprints.

The finish:

Bryan Clauson, Jeremy Sherman, Charles Davis, Jr., Colby Copeland, Jon Stanbrough, Richard Vander Weerd, Josh Pelkey, Kevin Thomas Jr., Andrew Reinbold, Ryan Bernal, Mike Martin, Jace Vander Weerd, Stevie Sussex, Jimmy Crawford, Bruce St. James, Brian Hosford, Robert Ballou, Thomas Ogle, R.J. Johnson, Ronnie Clark, Joshua Hodges, Rick Ziehl.