Clauson Continues Canyon Domination


PEORIA, Ariz. — Bryan Clauson continued his winning ways at Canyon Speedway Park by snaring AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series honors in Friday’s 13th annual USAC Hose Advantage Hall of Fame Classic opener atop the third-mile clay oval.

While the Noblesville, Ind., shoe added his 23rd overall win of the year and seventh atop CSP clay, Josh Shipley bested the Loan Mart Challenge Cup Sprint Car ranks while Dustin Cormany topped the Micro Sprint forces.

After setting a fast time of 13.647 seconds earlier in the evening, Clauson took the lead from national championship rival Dave Darland on the 23rd of 30 laps en route to his seventh series win of the year ahead of Tracy Hines with USAC/CRA rep Mike Spencer, Kevin Thomas, Jr., and USAC/CRA point leader Damion Gardner rounding out the top five.

After leading laps 21 and 22, Darland crossed the stripe sixth while Oklahoma native Brady Bacon was credited with 13th after leading the initial 20 laps of the main event.

In Loan Mart Challenge Cup action, Josh Shipley raced from the fourth row outside for his sixth win of the year ahead of Matt Lundy with Ty Mihocko, Mike Visser and Jesse Turner rounding out the top five.

Likewise, Dustin Cormany notched his sixth micro sprint win of the year from the pole starting position with fellow front row starter Colton Hardy, Pat Wing, Dave Van Ess and Kenny Hilton in the top five.


Previous articleLorenzo Masters Wet Motegi Track
Next articleBen Spies Announces Retirement is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.