Bud Kaeding Lands Budweiser Oval Nationals Seat

The Mike Martin Racing No. 16 that Bud Kaeding will drive at California's Perris Auto Speedway. (Ben Thrasher photo)

PERRIS, Calif. – Three-time Oval Nationals winner Bud Kaeding has signed on to drive for Mike Martin Racing in the 23rd running of the event, November 8-10 at California’s Perris Auto Speedway.

Kaeding, of Campbell, Calif., is a three-time winner of the Oval Nationals, scoring in 2001, 2002 and again in 2007. He’s one of only three drivers to do so, along with Dave Darland and Damion Gardner.

A much-accomplished racer on the full USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car trail throughout the 2000s, Kaeding has been victorious on 17 occasions with the series, most recently in 2012 during the Tony Hulman Classic at Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track.

Kaeding’s last appearance came in the 2016 Oval Nationals, where he finished sixth in Martin’s No. 16.

Kaeding is a five-time champion under the USAC banner. He is a three-time USAC Silver Crown champion – capturing titles in 2006, 2007 and 2009 – and has won regional Sprint Car titles with the Western series in 1999 and the West Coast series in 2012.

The Mike Martin Racing car has made three appearances with the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars this year, all coming in February at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla.

As a driver, Mike Martin won a USAC National/CRA Sprint Car feature at Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, Ariz., back in 2012.

Over 40 drivers are already entered for the event, including past Oval Nationals winners Damion Gardner, Dave Darland, Chris Windom and Kevin Thomas Jr.