Big Payout For USAC Thanksgiving Bash


LAS CRUCES, N.M. – Southwest sprint car participants are circling Nov. 28-29 in their 2014 calendars as Southern New Mexico Speedway in Las Cruces, N.M., will host the inaugural Thanksgiving Bash, showcasing USAC’s Southwest Sprint Car series in a big-cash non-points concluding USAC’s racing season.

The race winner will earn $10,000 and feature starters will be guaranteed $500 to start at the three-eighths-mile dirt oval which hosted USAC events in 1988, 2002 and last year.

Las Cruces’ own Rick Ziehl will certainly be among favorites in November. He won the only two previous USAC Sprint races at Southern New Mexico Speedway, in both 2002 and 2013. The other events held there in 1988 were Midget races won by Jack Yeley, Mark Passarelli and Tommy Astone.

Ziehl, USAC’s 2003 Southwest Sprint Car Series champion, actually has won four of the last five USAC Sprint races in the “Land of Enchantment,” which included a pair of wins at Hollywood Hills Speedway in San Felipe Pueblo in 2003.

“We are very excited for our fans and sponsors to be able to host a great show like this at Southern New Mexico Speedway,” said the track’s general manager Rue Stone. “Since making the announcement, our phone has not stopped ringing with drivers calling in to let us know they will be here. It’s going to be huge.”