Bernal Leads Only The Last Lap At Santa Maria


SANTA MARIA, Calif. — Ryan Bernal led only the final lap Saturday night at Santa Maria Raceway to win the Ron Otto Memorial.

The event was sanctioned by the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series and Bernal passed Jake Swanson, who led the first 29 laps, on the final circuit of the three-eighths-mile oval.

Swanson finished second with Max Adams, Jimmy Thompson and Cody Majors filling the top five.

The finish:

Ryan Bernal, Jake Swanson, Max Adams, Jimmy Thompson, Cody Majors, Richard Vander Weerd, Ryan Timmons, Trent Carter, Brandon Wiley, Shannon McQueen, Tom Hendricks, Geoffrey Strole, Sean Martin Jr., James Herrera, Jace Vander Weerd, Tristan Guardino, Danny Sheridan, Jordan Linson, Jevon Camp, Ryan Stolz, Steve Hix.