Bakersfield Sprint To Ryan Bernal


BAKERSFIELD, Calif. — USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series point leader Ryan Bernal controlled the second half of Saturday night’s feature at Bakersfield Speedway and rolled to victory.

Bernal took the lead from Danny Faria Jr. on lap 17 and led the remainder of the 30-lap race on the third-mile dirt track.

Richard Vander Weerd finished second with Bud Kaeding, Faria and Marcus Niemela filling the top five.

Dennis Howell was fast qualifier for the 17-car field.

The finish:

Ryan Bernal, Richard Vander Weerd, Bud Kaeding, Danny Faria Jr., Markus Niemela, Rusty Carlile, Brody Roa, Dennis Howell, Ricky Kirkbride, Derek Buckley, Chris Ennis, Marty Hawkins, Kevin Barnes, Mike Broome, Matt Day, Jace Vander Weerd, Austin Liggett.