Skagit Slipper Fits Marc Duperron

Marc Duperron and crew in victory lane Friday night at Skagit Speedway. (ASCS photo)
Marc Duperron and crew in victory lane Friday night at Skagit Speedway. (ASCS photo)
Marc Duperron and crew in victory lane Friday night at Skagit Speedway. (ASCS photo)

ALGER, Wash. — It was a Cinderella story Friday night at Skagit Speedway as Marc Duperron debuted a new race car for his first race of the season and won the preliminary feature for the 45th Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup presented by Jack in the Box.

Duperron’s third Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour A-Feature start, saw the driver of the Apri’s North/KPC Chassis No. 11eh become the 133rd different winner in Lucas Oil ASCS competition and is the 10th different winner this season.

Marc Duperron is also the first Canadian to win in the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network series.

The win is also a first for Duperron at the Skagit Speedway.

“I was just thinking, if you would have asked me about Wednesday night on the way up here with this being out first race of the season, I would tell you that you were full of crap if you’d would have said this car was going to be up front, but hats off to the guys that work on this thing,” said Duperron, who led flag to flag on Friday night. “It’s been nine months. I could have had a baby since I was in the car last but we had a lot of luck go our way and lot of good guys on this car.”

Surviving several rounds of reds and cautions on the start of the feature, that collected Seth Bergman, Jake Helsel, Travis Rilat, and Chase Goetz; each restart was a challenge as Jason Solwold charged every line in an attempt for the lead. Able to take the lead at one point, the red flag brought the field back to the last fully completed lap.

Protecting the bottom as the race finally got rolling, the leaders found light traffic at the race’s halfway point. Working around a few slower cars, the caution again flew as Justin Youngquist and Wayne Johnson spun to a stop top in the second turn.

Duperron kept it smooth and clean, winning by 1.339 seconds.

Crossing second, Jason Solwold’s 21st career Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour feature start put the Mike Anderson owned No. 18 in the A-Feature on Saturday night.

“We had him on that one restart, and I don’t know how many we had with all those cars crashing, it seemed like we were never going to make a lap,” commented Jason on his attempts at the lead. “We never really got into lapped traffic, so I’m kind of curious to know what would have happened there but we just got beat; but we’ll take second today.”

Blake Hahn put the Lucas Oil/CSR Garage No. 52 on the final podium step.

“We’re really happy to lock into this big show. It’s such a big deal and after last year, we’ll take anything,” Hahn said. “We hurt two cars while we were up there, so we’re just really happy we had a good night. Locking it in just makes in ever better.”

Sam Hafertepe Jr. grabbed the final transfer into Saturday’s A-Feature. The Sunnyvale, Texas, native was chased to the line by Cam Smith.

The finish:

Marc Duperron, Jason Solwold, Blake Hahn, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Cameron (Cam) Smith, Logan Forler, Johnny Herrera, Colton Heath, Jared Peterson, Trey Starks, Wayne Johnson, Bricen James, Matt Covington, Aaron Reutzel, Greg Hamilton, Steve Reeves, Justin Youngquist, Eric Fisher, Seth Bergman, Travis Rilat, Chase Goetz, Jake Helsel.