Tyler Thomas Keeps Rolling

Tyler Thomas en route to victory at Creek County Speedway. (Richard Bales photo)

SAPULPA, Okla. – Tyler Thomas has enjoyed the hot hand in the Midget ranks in recent weeks.

It continued on Saturday night atop the Creek County Speedway clay oval with Thomas besting a field of 47 Lucas Oil POWRi West Midget League presented by Executive Concrete NWA entries to take Fall Fling honors in the 25-lap feature event.

After starting third, Thomas railed the topside of the track to overtake early leader Jerry Coons Jr. on the seventh round and then kept Jonathan Beason at bay over the closing rounds to secure the win aboard the Toyota-powered BT Machine No. 91T Spike-chassis.

“The top was quick right away,” Thomas said in victory lane.  “It got really technical and tricky up there, there were some bumps and we just had to ride it out.”

Coons and Tony Bruce Jr. led the way to the green flag with Coons snaring the early lead with Thomas making his way into second by the third round. Thomas worked the high side past Coons, Jr., by the eighth round to take command.

In his wake, Beason worked the low line to move into fifth from the ninth starting position by the time a caution flew after 11 rounds and worked his way up to second in short order by the 14th circuit.

Thomas kept Beason at bay, surviving a final caution with five laps to go to post his second POWRi West win of the season by little more than a car length.

Beason settled for runner-up honors with Bruce, Jr., taking over the show position after Coons and Wesley Smith tangled while dicing for third to set up the final five-lap dash to the stripe.

Bruce however missed the scales after the checkered flag, handing third to 18th-starter Blake Hahn with POWRi West points eader and Sooner Series champion Kory Schudy from 12th and Alex Sewell rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Tyler Thomas, Jonathan Beason, Blake Hahn, Kory Schudy, Alex Sewell, Grady Chandler, Wesley Smith, Zane Hendricks, Tanner Berryhill, Matt Sherrell, Hannah Adair, Doug McCune, Pat Schudy, Korey Weyant, Jason Martin, Hunter Fischer, Jerry Coons Jr., Hank Davis, Alex DeCamp, Chett Gehrke, Chance Morton, Tony Bruce Jr.