Tucker Klaasmeyer Leads Another KKM Sweep

Tucker Klaasmeyer earned his sixth POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League triumph of the year on Sunday at Lake Ozark Speedway. (POWRi Photo)

ELDON, Mo. – Picking up his sixth POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League victory of the year, Tucker Klaasmeyer led a Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports podium sweep at Lake Ozark Speedway on Sunday evening.

Starting outside the front row, Klaasmeyer lead the opening lap over pole sitter Kyle Craker, with Tyler Thomas in third. As the field began to search for grooves, the topside of the high-banked third mile appeared to be the quickest way around.

With four laps down, Craker caused the action to come to a stop after clipping the outside wall and flipping wildly. He was OK, but the damaged sustained to his machine was enough to sideline him for the remainder of the event. Resuming racing, Tanner Carrick hounded Klaasmeyer as Logan Seavey worked his way through the field from his eighth place starting position towards Thomas in third.

Eleven laps later the caution waved again, this time for Karter Sarff, who cut a right rear down. Stacking the field back up, Klaasmeyer again held off Carrick as Seavey searched for ground to gain on third place Thomas. Pushing into third and past Thomas, Seavey took the spot and with 23 laps down, Karsyn Elledge brought out the caution as her machine sat spun in turn four.

Returning to a two-lap shootout, Klaasmeyer deflected any chance that Carrick had at the lead, as Seavey slipped past Carrick for second. Thomas finished fourth with Ryan Robinson in fifth.

“That was a really fun race,” said Klaasmeyer. “I was starting to get a little nervous on needing to make a late race lane change, but I just felt too good up there to change anything. I could put that thing anywhere tonight. Al had that thing on lock. This is awesome. Picking up six wins in a year and leading the points this late in the year is great. Getting them all throughout the year and not just one patch throughout the season is nice. I’m looking forward to next week.”

“Overall, the track crew gave us a great racetrack tonight, so hat’s off to them,” said Seavey. “Once again, the KKM sweep the podium of the show. This shows how good these racecars are. They’re so fun to drive and on a good racetrack like this with two grooves, it makes it a lot of fun. We all basically run identical racecars and are all trying to rip the fence. It’s tough to gain ground when it’s your teammates you’re racing against.”

The finish:

Tucker Klaasmeyer, Logan Seavey, Tanner Carrick, Tyler Thomas, Ryan Robinson, Holly Shelton, Zach Daum, Maria Cofer, Blake Carrick, Michelle Decker, Sam Johnson, Jake Neuman, Kory Schudy, Hank Davis, Holley Hollan, Karsyn Elledge, Andrew Felker, J.D. Black, Karter Sarff, Austin Brown, Kyle Cracker, Chance Morton.