Tucker Klaasmeyer Does It Again

Tucker Klaasmeyer celebrates his second consecutive POWRi Midget Series triumph. (Don Figler photo)

PEVELY, Mo. — Fresh off his first victory at Belle-Clair Speedway the night before, Tucker Klaasmeyer stole the show from Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports teammate Logan Seavey to go two-for-two with the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League.

Starting mid-pack in the 12th position, Klaasmeyer had his work cut out for him.

In the opening laps, Zach Daum paced the field from the second position over Logan Seavey as the track stayed hammer-down. As the track widened out and became abrasive, Clauson-Marshall driver Zeb Wise took over the top point on lap 14, just before the halfway mark.

Nineten laps in the yellow was displayed as Wise lost a left rear tire while the track began to show signs of rubber. Wise was able to get a new tire bolted on during the yellow and refired at the tail.

Inheriting the lead, Logan Seavey held the top position while Klaasmeyer had only moved into the top five to this point. Seavey held the lead until lap 25 when Clauson-Marshall Racing driver Tyler Courtney overcame him for the top position.

With three laps to go, Courtney suffered a flat tire, relinquishing the lead to Seavey. In the final laps, Klaasmeyer capitalized on Seavey’s misfortune as the No. 67 machine appeared to be in the process of having a tire go down.

Seavey was able to hang on to get a top three, but only after Brady Bacon was able to sneak into the second position. Zeb Wise rallied to the fourth position, while Ryan Robinson rounded out the top five.

“I’ve been waiting for a streak for a long time,” Klaasmeyer said. “One was good, two is great. I knew coming here this place owed me something. I just tried cooling the tires up top under the yellows. There was still good moisture down low with rubber right above it, so I figured if I stayed in the wet moisture, maybe the tires would last a little longer. I just want to win races, that’s all it boils down to and we’re off to a good start. Hopefully we keep it going.”

The finish:

Tucker Klaasmeyer, Brady Bacon, Logan Seavey, Zeb Wise, Ryan Robinson, Jerry Coons Jr., Tanner Carrick, Kyle Schuett, Blake Carrick, Kyle Craker, Trey Marcham, Holly Shelton, Joe B. Miller, Payton Pierce, Karter Sarff, Tyler Courtney, Zach Daum, Ace McCarthy, Andrew Felker, Holley, Hollan, Rico Abreu, Brayton Lynch.