Smith & Blank Top Double-X Mains

Wesley Smith in victory lane at Double-X Speedway. (Carol Wirts photo)

CALIFORNIA, Mo. — Tyler Blank and Wesley Smith captured sprint car features Sunday night at Double-X Speedway.

The headline division on the card was the POWRi WAR Sprint Cars with the final feature event of the evening.

Brad Wyatt and Quinton Benson led the field to the green in the marquee event. Benson would move out to the early lead while the racing was going on behind him. Wesley Smith moved into second and moved to the rear bumper of the leader when the caution flew with seven laps in the books for Samuel Wagner and Brian Beebe.

On the restart, Benson continued to lead with Smith giving chase. Fans eyes were on Tyler Blank as he started at the rear of the field and was knocking on the top ten on the restart. On the restart Wesley Smith held off a hard charging Riley Kreisel and then set his sights on Benson. The two would dance around the oval high and low until Smith was able to make the pass on the low side of the back stretch.

Benson would settle into second with Joe B. Miller in third. Riley Kreisel, Korey Weyant and Jack Wagner were al racing hard for position behind the leaders.

At the checkered flag, it was Smith picking up the winners hardware. Hard charging Joe B. Miller came across second, Benson held on for third, Jack Wagner was fourth and Korey Weyant completed the top five.

The winged sprint car feature saw Tyler Blank have to pass the leader twice to pick up win No. 3 on the season. The earlier pass was negated by a caution flag relegating Blank to second behind leader Taylor Walton.

On the restart, it was obvious that Blanks JR1 Chassis would get better as the run went on and he was able to pass Walton one more time, this time for keeps as he collected feature win number three on the season at Double X. Walton would finish a strong second, Riley Kreisel finished third with only a handful of winged sprint car starts to his credit, Quinton Benson finished fourth and Randy Martin was fifth.

Kyle Smith earned his second victory of the season in the hobby stock division and John Clancy Jr. won the super stock main event.

The finish:

Wesley Smith, Joe B. Miller, Quinton Benson, Jack Wagner, Korey Weyant, Kaitlyn Leer, Riley Kreisel, Kory Schudy, Tyler Blank, Chris Morgan, Broc Elliott, Neal Matsukas, Brad Wyatt, Samuel Wagner, Braydon Cromwell, Jason Billups, Brian Beebe, Chris Parkinson, Slater Helt.