Seavey Rolls At Lake Ozark

Logan Seavey (POWRi photo)
Logan Seavey (POWRi photo)

ELDON, Mo. — Logan Seavey rolled from sixth on the grid to win Sunday night’s POWRi Lucas Oil National and West Midget League feature at Lake Ozark Speedway.

At the drop of the green flag, Jim Neuman Racing teammates Jake Neuman and Ace McCarthy dueled each other for the top position with Neuman holding the lead over McCarthy as Seavey, Tucker Klaasmeyer, and Jesse Colwell dueled on back. With eight laps in the books, the red was displayed for Kaylee Bryson who got upside down hard in turn one after catching a right rear. Coming back to green flag racing, Neuman again powered back into the lead, but it wasn’t long before Seavey took over the top position.

As the laps grew longer, it appeared nobody would have anything for Seavey. That is until the last 10 laps, when Zach Daum began his ascent into the top five on his way to a podium finish.

With the final caution on lap 27, Seavey led Klaasmeyer and Daum back to green, but Daum edged past Klaasmeyer for second and moved closer to pressuring Seavey. As the laps wound down, Klaasmeyer did everything he could to regain the second position, but in the ensuing chase, ended up sliding back to fourth as Jesse Colwell took over the third position to round out the podium.

“I was talking to my crew chief, Connor, after the heat race and I told him I was going to commit to the bottom; I didn’t think the bottom was going to slow down and he wasn’t totally sure about that, but I was pretty sure,” said Seavey. “He believed in me and we set it up for the bottom. I struggled for the first few laps to get around the racetrack, but then this thing really took off. It got really tricky on both ends of the racetrack and I saw the 5 moving up on the scoreboard, so I figured I better hit the bottom so he doesn’t sneak by. Overall, this was a fun race.”

“We were horrible early, we didn’t really come in until the last ten laps or so,” said Zach Daum. “We got better at the end. It was a little tight early, but we finished the race and we’re on the podium.”

The finish:

Logan Seavey, Zach Daum, Jesse Colwell, Tucker Klaasmeyer, Jake Neuman, Ace McCarthy, Holley Hollan, Chance Morton, Andrew Felker, Hank Davis, Kade Morton, Mark Billings, Luke Howard, Merril Lamb, Gunner Ramey, Garet Williamson, Rick Horn, Cannon McIntosh, Daison Pursley, Emilio Hoover, Kaylee Bryson, Justin Fernandez, Trey Marcham.