Seavey Masters Macon POWRi Field

Logan Seavey (67) races past Tanner Carrick en route to victory Saturday at Macon Speedway. (Brendon Bauman Photo)
Logan Seavey (67) races past Tanner Carrick en route to victory Saturday at Macon Speedway. (Brendon Bauman Photo)

MACON, Ill. – Logan Seavey took the lead on lap nine of 30 and never looked back on the way to a dominating win in Saturday’s POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League feature at Macon Speedway.

The victory is Seavey’s 10th of the year in POWRi competition. He is now one shy of Christopher Bell’s series single-season record of 11 set in 2014.

After a pair of early first-lap cautions, the third time proved to the charm for 16-year-old Cannon McIntosh as he moved past Tanner Carrick to lead lap one with Seavey in third.

McIntosh would maintain the point position early, while Seavey would move to the bottom to overtake Carrick for second on lap three. As Seavey continued to move forward, the action began to heat up as he and McIntosh battled for the top spot with Jake Neuman joining the battle after taking third.

On lap six, McIntosh and Seavey would go side-by-side for the lead with the two Toyotas making contact, but McIntosh would maintain the top spot, followed by Seavey, Neuman, Carrick, Zach Daum and Jesse Colwell.

Finally, on lap nine, Seavey was able to clear McIntosh for the lead and quickly began to pull away from the field. Two laps later, Neuman would go high to overtake McIntosh for second.

As the race moved past the midway point, Seavey stretched his lead out to over a full straightaway. As the laps continued to wind down Seavey had pulled out to more than a second-and-a-half lead and the focus turned to the battle for third between Carrick and McIntosh, with McIntosh reclaiming the position on lap 28.

At the checkered flag, it was Seavey, followed by Neuman, McIntosh, Carrick and Daum. The victory was Seavey’s third in the last four POWRi events.

With his sixth-place showing, Colwell continues to lead the POWRi point standings by 170 points over Daum with seven races remaining.

In other action, Chad Elliott won the POWRi Engler Machine & Tool Outlaw Micro League feature from the pole. Jeremy Nichols won the Archer’s Alley Street Stocks main event while Rob Timmons collected the victory in the Neal Tire & Auto Pro Modified feature.

The finish:

Logan Seavey, Jake Neuman, Cannon McIntosh, Tanner Carrick, Zach Daum, Jesse Colwell, Holley Hollan, Andrew Felker, Austin Brown, Austin O’Dell, Karter Sarff, Daison Pursley, Jesse Love, Ace McCarthy, Daniel Robinson, David Camfield, Dalton Camfield, Devin Camfield, Shelby Boise, Broc Hunnell.