Riley Kriesel Controls Border WAR

Riley Kriesel

BELLEVILLE, Ill. — Leading from start-to-finish, Riley Kreisel controlled Friday’s “Border WAR” opener at Belle-Clair Speedway in convincing fashion.

Earning his fifth-career POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprint League victory, the defending series champion shot his No. 90 to the top of the points chase with only a handful of races left.

Earning LRB, Inc. #HighPointMan honors, Kreisel had a little luck of the draw with a zero-inversion leaving his No. 90 on the pole position of the 25-lapper. Shooting to the early lead, Kreisel assumed command of the top spot while the 23-car field behind him jockeyed for position on the fifth-mile surface.

Heading into a swarm of lapped traffic, Kreisel brought along Wesley Smith and Zach Daum as the trio ran bumper-to-bumper atop the cushion. A red flag for an upside-down T.J. Artz bunched the field back up and fired them off at the halfway point.

Keeping it consistent on the high side, Kreisel remained large and in charge while Smith had his hands full with a persistent Daum, who insisted on rolling the bottom as he crept into contention. In the closing stages, Daum finally inched close enough to launch a slider on Smith and steal the second spot away as he set his sights on Kreisel out front.

A lap-21 caution created a four-lap dash to the finish with Kreisel in control, but Daum fast and furious on his heels.

The 19-year old reigning WAR Sprints champion would not be denied on this night, however, as Riley Kreisel sealed the deal and put a stamp on his wire-to-wire victory at Belle-Clair Speedway.

Chasing Kreisel to the stripe was Zach Daum, who advanced from eighth-to-second aboard the McGarry Motorsports No. 31b. Colten Cottle rounded out the podium in his No. 5c entry, while Wesley Smith and Korey Weyant closed the top five.

The finish:

Feature (25 Laps): 1. 90-Riley Kreisel (1); 2. 31B-Zach Daum (8); 3. 5C-Colten Cottle (3); 4. 12-Wesley Smith (4); 5. 99-Korey Weyant (7); 6. 28-Kory Schudy (6); 7. 15B-Quinton Benson (5); 8. 56-Mitchell Davis (16); 9. 70-Pete Palazzolo (11); 10. 37-Brian Beebe (2); 11. 8D-Justin Standridge (19); 12. 77-Jack Wagner (10); 13. 16-Anthony Nicholson (15); 14. 73-Samuel Wagner (18); 15. 20-Steve Thomas (12); 16. 45-Adam Wilfong (21); 17. 21X-Steve Stroud (23); 18. 90X-Patrick Budde (13); 19. 4-Braydon Cromwell (14); 20. 31-Austin Sears (22); 21. 2-Jason Billups (20); 22. 22S-Slater Helt (17); 23. 57-TJ Artz (9).