Riley Kreisel Collects WAR Accolades

Riley Kreisel (90) chases Wesley Smith at Humboldt (Kan.) Speedway. (Richard Bales photo)

HUMBOLDT, Kan. — Capitalizing on the trouble that can be lap traffic, Riley Kreisel overtook Ty Hulsey for the top spot just past halfway Saturday night at Humboldt Speedway and stormed off with his third victory of the season with the POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprints League.

Kreisel started from the pole, but it was Ty Hulsey who jumped into the lead off the start. After trailing Hulsey for 14 laps, Kreisel capitalized when Hulsey became boxed-in by a lapper and moved his No. 90 to the top spot and never looked back.

Coming home with a second-place with a late-race pass, Wesley Smith backed up his win from last night with a strong runner-up result tonight.

Hulsey commanded the opening half of tonight’s feature, but lap traffic was costly and send the Oklahoman home with a third-place in the Risley Racing No. 24h.

In his WAR Sprints debut, Matt Moore showed out in style claiming back-to-back top five finishes of fifth and fourth. Closing out the top five would be Joe B. Miller in fifth aboard the McGarry Motorsports No. 31m.

The finish:

Riley Kreisel, Wesley Smith, Ty Hulsey, Matt Moore, Joe Miller, Chris Parkinson, Quinton Benson, Kyle Clark, Warren Johnson, Anthony Nicholson, Chad Goff, Jack Wagner, Casey Wills, Samuel Wagner, Mitchell Davis, Craig Carroll, Andrew Deal, Vinny Ward, T.J. Artz, Slater Helt.