It’s Pickens Again During Illinois SPEED Week

Michael Pickens won Saturday's POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League main event at Macon Speedway.

MACON, Ill. – Michael Pickens proved his versatility by winning night four of POWRi Illinois SPEED Week at Macon Speedway on Saturday evening.

Pickens won the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League Illinois SPEED Week Mesilla Valley Transportation opening feature at the Dirt Oval at Route 66 on Wednesday. Saturday’s victory on the tight, high-banked Macon Speedway extended his POWRi Illinois SPEED Week championship lead.

By virtue of winning his Speedway Motors heat race after starting sixth, Pickens earned the pole position as high point earner of the night. Working the top side of the racing surface, Pickens found the fastest way around and worked the rubber to victory. Enduring multiple cautions and race slowdowns, Pickens had to fend off relentless pressure from Zach Daum.

Zeb Wise, a POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League Rookie of the Year candidate, finished third. Former POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League champion Brad Loyet took fourth, while Shane Golobic finished fifth.

“Huge thanks to my team,” said Pickens. “They gave me an awesome car and I wouldn’t be here without them. I definitely wouldn’t be here without my car owners and everyone that supported us and all the supporters back home and our major sponsors. Once it laid rubber, I didn’t want to get off it. It’s a matter of who finds the rubber first and we found it pretty quick and went hammer down.”

“I just want to apologize to all the fans that had to watch that race there,” Zach Daum stated. “I’m sure that wasn’t a lot of fun. Rubber races aren’t fun for anybody. Michael started up front there and I tried to pressure him to make him make a mistake there at the end and I’ve raced with Michael a long enough time to know that he isn’t going to make a mistake and he’s going to run you clean. We had a good race. We started seventh and ran second, so we’ll go on to tomorrow.”

The finish:

Michael Pickens, Zach Daum, Zeb Wise, Brad Loyet, Shane Golobic, Austin Brown, Tucker Klaasmeyer, Ace McCarthy, Jimi Quin, Robert Dalby, Andy Malpocker, Chance Morton, Aidan Roosevans, Jake Blackhurst, Shelby Bosie, Travis Young, Colten Cottle, Brad Kraus, Tyler Thomas, Jake Neuman, Terry Babb, Andrew Felker, Logan Seavey.