Nicholson Goes Caution-Free In Wheatland

Anthony Nicholson in victory lane at Lucas Oil Speedway. (Kenny Shaw photo)

WHEATLAND, Mo. — Anthony Nicholson took command with six laps to go in a caution-free POWRi WAR Sprints 25-lap feature that had four different leaders Friday night at Lucas Oil Speedway.

Nicholson, who started on the pole, passed runner-up Wyatt Burks on lap 19.  Burks grabbed the lead on lap 10 and had command until Nicholson’s winning move.

Kyle Cummings wound up in third with Matt Moore fourth and series points leader Riley Kreisel finishing fifth.

“We had a tight car all night and we were still tight in the beginning,” Nicholson said. “It just kind of came to us. As it went away, they slowed down and we were able to get them.

“We really didn’t touch the car all night. We hoped the track came to us, and it did.”

Burks, of Topeka, Kansas, said driving his car too hard probably wound up costing him a chance at the win.

“I just used my brakes up too much at the beginning and I couldn’t drive the car like I wanted to,”  Burks said.

Kreisel was contending for a top two finish until the final couple of laps, but slid too high in turns three and fourth to slip back and had to settle for fifth.

The finish:

Anthony Nicholson, Wyatt Burks, Kyle Cummins, Matt Moore, Riley Kreisel, Colten Cottle, Danny Smith, Zach Daum, Andrew Deal, Quinton Benson, Chad Goff, Wade Seiler, Brian Beebe, Craig Carroll, Zach Clark, Paul White, Warren Johnson, Chance Morton, David Stephenson, Mitch Wissmiller.