New POWRi Lightning Sprint League Created


BELLEVILLE, Ill. — POWRi, the most diversified sanctioning body in the country, has added another division to its portfolio with the creation of the POWRi Lightning Sprint League.

Serving as the sanctioning body for four of the nation’s biggest lightning sprint organizations, the POWRi Lightning Sprint League will consist of the California Lightning Sprints, the Rocky Mountain Lightning Sprints, the Midwest Lightning Sprints and the Movie Land Lightning Sprints.

Offering a point fund for each individual club, all of the leagues will have a phenomenal opportunity to grow and create enticement within their operation. On top of that, the four clubs will come together under POWRi to establish a unified set of rules across each organization.

On Oct. 4-5, competitors from all four lightning sprint groups will merge together to battle it out for the national championship. Held at Lake Ozark Speedway in Eldon, Mo., the POWRi Lightning Sprint Nationals will offer the chance for each club to be represented as drivers chase the prestigious honor of winning a national title.

“We’re thrilled for this opportunity to create the POWRi Lightning Sprint League and bring a unified feeling to the lightning sprint community,” noted POWRi League Director Jason McCord. “We have really prided ourselves on the diversity that POWRi offers between midgets, micro sprints, and sprint cars, and now lightning sprints will just up that ante. I am confident we have picked up four great organizations and I can’t wait to see the success this new partnership creates.”